August 26, 2023

  • Around 103 degrees

    I forgot how to make the degree symbol. :-) Along with a whole bunch of other things I have forgotten.

    I wish I could find a room darkening shade like we have in all the bedrooms. One problem is knowing how to measure it. In one room Wil had to put in some wooden blocks to mount that one. I want it for the Livingroom. (computer wanted that word with a capital)  Have a cheap thing Juan nailed up for me but I need something to pull almost all the way down in the heat of the day. No curtains now, can't wash them and cats wouldn't leave them alone any way.

    Had carpal tunnel surgery on my right arm.  In 2012 both wrists were done. I guess due to diabetes they are back. The tingling in thumb and index finger has not gone away. If it hasn't by Nov. I don't know if I'll do the other wrist. He ran into so much scar tissue he had to cut into my palm. Until stitches removed I washed dishes one handed. I do have rubber gloves but didn't want to chance getting water in them.

    Getting cramps so don't know if I will get to stay here.

    Not much changes around here. One day I pulled on a diaper to go to the Credit Union and it was a good thing I did. That ended my plans, car didn't get washed until the next day.

    While at the doctors Thursday I got the call the headstones were delivered. Now next week I will try to find out when they are going to 'plant' them. 2 yrs since Carissa died and the little thing I bought from Amazon to put on her grave completely bleached out.  I went to the funeral home behind us to order both of them as I was getting no where with Mission.

    The end of this month we have to drive to the probate attorney again so he can ask Wil if it is ok to redo our Wills. The lady who was to be the executor has just plain disappeared. Jim from our church has agreed. The church will get everything when we are gone. I have to get the new durable power of attorney so I can have an application ready for the VA facility for Wil  should I go first.  I pray I am the last to go.

    I packed up all the stamp collection that he doesn't care about and sent all but one box to Old Hats wife in Flint TX. I still have one to send as I misunderstood him and thought he had ordered it for her. He apologized as he hadn't been to alert for awhile when he was sick. I've known him for years. He used to have a blog.

    I'm packing up my journal that I printed out years ago and Sandy will get that box if she still wants it. Cary wanted Carissa's picture but finally decided it won't fit in his house. He tried to get it in his car but it would not fit. I told him I knew someone with a truck then I learned he didn't want it.

    While talking to our primary about an estate sale he told me unless you have a lot of expensive stuff no one will do it. He had to put his 99 yr. mother in law in assisted living. He said she would be really upset to know what went to Good Will.   So I'm packing up stuff for Disabled Vets one of these days.

     

Comments (9)

  • Haven't heard that Mary. will ask our doc next visit.

  • Hi Bonnie, I caught a nasty stomach virus right after I’d had surgery. It’s been a bad trip. This virus doesn’t seem to want to go away. It’s hanging on going on a month. It’s happened before. Viruses love me. Good news, my husband’s doctor said we can skip the Covid booster this year because we’ve had the first 2 then one more. Actually, my husband heard the doc say, that’s it no more shots. Humm we heard something slightly different. Anyway we’re not getting a Covid vaccine. Apparently it’s caused an autoimmune illness. If you heard or read something like this, please let me know.

  • Mary I have a bungee cord on the tree that I used to hang corn cobs on for squirrels. Now I can't get them on it so just toss the cob. I don't even try to hang around to see what stray cat has come.

  • It’s cooling off. No longer in the 100s. I can get outdoors and do a little pruning. The days are getting shorter. We have stray kitties that some in our yard, but they won’t let me pet them. Yesterday, a squirrel came up to the sliding glass door and looked in. People feed the squirrels, I don’t. Have a healthy and happy autumn.

  • Hi Bonnie, it’s great to hear from you.. I always learn from your posts. I’ve never been a serious collector of anything, but people give have given me things, then there’s momentos from family that’s past, and hundreds of photographs. There’s family that actually hungers for that sort of thing. I may give it to them, but I suspect it’ll go to Veterans. Btw some stuff I’ve tried to give them they’ve rejected. Lol in the end we just want to get rid of it. It used to be we were allowed an incinerator and could burn stuff, but no more. Take care. Thinking of you, Wil, and kitties.

    • Hear that Mary but a lot of memories I wouldn't trash. Let someone else. lol

  • cc the stamps and coins had been Wil's collections. Worse is finding how he spent more than their value.
    I printed out my journals years ago and will mail those to Sandy but can't afford to send the older ones done before online.

  • Isn't it funny how things that we hold dear mean nothing to other people. I don't know about you, but I felt that way about much of my own mother's things. She was so proud of her seal fur coat, but they couldn't give it away at her estate sale. The Disabled Vets is a good organization to think of at such times. In fact, it sounds like you have distribution well thought out. Good for you!

    I think your wish to outlast Wil is in line with what many/most of us women wish. My husband's father lived to almost 98 and no one in my family has come even close to that (most didn't make it to 80), so I have my fingers crossed. My husband would not fare well in an institutional setting. Most mornings, he's almost himself, but most evenings he's living in a completely different world.

    Hugs to you, and thanks for keeping those of us who don't do FB, updated.

  • As usual Bonnie you are sorting things out, making sure all is in order for Wil if need be. Also clearing out and getting items to people. This time of life seems a good time to purge and I have been doing quite a lot of that the past couple of years. Take care of yourself, you are a strong woman but you need TLC at times.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment