November 13, 2023

  • Short post

    Not sure if I'll send out any notices. Only 4 people now on the list. One I can contact on FB if I remember her new sign in. My memory is getting worse about names. People I've known for years I struggle to pull up their name. I remember Old Hat but to get him on FB I have to remember his name as James.

    Things are getting tougher here even for me. I struggle to swallow my Janument and this morning it felt like it was caught and apparently it was. By the time I got it back it came with bright blood and what looked like an old clot perhaps as I had not eaten anything brown. Sorry I'm gross. I need to fire off a note to my primary about a substitute perhaps. I have a phone meeting this week with the gastro NP but I'm afraid to continue trying to get those hard caps down and I take them twice a day. I've had a problem swallowing for some time. My last exam they found thrush in my throat.

    Wil has it days, or should I say his nights. Sundowners he starts rearranging things and walking around. 3 days I couldn't find Missy's bowl and I knew it had food in it as I set it up under the can with food to keep Mr. Grey from eating it. But it was gone, looked every where. Found it by opening a decorative tin holding keys. It still had the food in it. I've also lost my handicap placard and I remember laying it by my purse since it wouldn't fit in the purse. We went out for our COVID annual booster right after. If he threw it in the trash I don't know why he would have. To get another would not be easy.  I don't drive much any more and most handicap spaces are taken any way. Our church has a program to help us old folks.  Our bus company requires at least 7 page application some of which the doctor would have to fill and that is for one person.  So if we have an appt. for both that won't work. No I have not tried Uber. They aren't cheap and you can't schedule both trips at one time so we would be sitting around waiting for another driver to take us home.

    A friend came in to help look for the placard and parted with it isn't safe for us here as I hadn't lined up someone to clean my floors. That's her way to say we should be in assisted living. So until I found out if Evelyn was coming back I killed myself trying to sweep and mop the kitchen, long hallway and dinning room. That was dumb of me.  Evelyn had gone to Mexico to see her sister who has bone cancer and it drained her. But Nadia said she would fill in.  Why I let Kate get to me I don't know. She is a lovely lady, a tad bossy and a retired Hospice Nurse. She says I have fallen more than anyone else she knows. I have fallen 4 times this year and the last I was squatting at the cat bowl when I went backward. 4 times is not a lot in a year.

    Time to get Wil up for shower/shave.

     

Comments (8)

  • Guess it is time for me to write. Listening to Christmas Carols and trying to get thru email.

  • Hi Bonnie, more people read your post than you think they’re people like me looking for sage advice about experience in aging. We all slow down and those of us that become caregivers slow down too. Each birthday brings some dramatic changes whether it’s emotional , physical, or mental. At 86 my husband does okay , but lately his memory is worse. I read longevity articles and cook and buy food that’s good for brain health, but aging is what it is and there’s no turning back. Blogging must be a challenge, yet I hope you continue to inspire your readers.

  • Mary sounds so similar at your house. Wil isn't usually cranky during the day, he is dozing or looking out the window. Then there are the times he muddles in his desk drawers. Meals are smaller now.

  • Boy! talk about stress , My heart goes out to u, I know all about stress. We both cope with the stress huh Bonnie What else can we do? Stress is bad but the alternative is worse. Bless u Bonnie just know your thought of and in my prayers. Just remember God doesn't give us more than we can handle. Losing your children, an surviving through the loss should have been enough. God must think your super strong. Hang tough

  • Boy oh boy!! lots has been happening around here to! Chuck isn't getting better went from using a cane to a walker. Uses it all the time, is never without it. Says he feels safer with it. Gave up doing his therapy exercises. I have to do his meds , as he gets confused. I wouldn't mind being his care giver if he'd appreciate it, but he isn't the nicest anymore. He's cranky, mean and never has anything nice to say. His memory is failing and his eating is the pits. He's diabetic and suppose to eat 3 meals a day. Today I had to wake him up. He slept till 11. So he eats breakfast forget lunch. Sleeps all the time plus sleeps all night. I don't understand how he can sleep so much. Well I could go on an on, but I know u have your hands full. I look so forward to your entries, it's a bright spot in my life. Please don't ever give it up. HUGS

  • Oh Bonnie, it gets harder and harder for you to cope with it all. Sending good thoughts, Rosemary

  • thanks Sasha, prayers help.

  • I do worry about you, B. You have so much stress taking care of everything

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *