November 23, 2022

  • Day before Thanksgiving

    I bought some banana bread and an apple pie for tomorrow. If I feel OK I will bake the last pieces of fish for lunch.  I was doing pretty good this morning until I decided to sit back down and pedal as I missed 2 wks. Mistake.

    Missy is sitting on the windowsill listening to the Ocean sound cd I have in. She doesn't know what to make of it, at least she isn't walking across the top of the desk yet. Imagine she spent some time watching squirrels out the window as I bought some squirrel food since I can't get to the feed store for corn cobs to hang. All the little birds were back too and I saw a couple doves. I so miss feeding birds but we still have stray cats running around. In fact yesterday Wil spotted a big one I've never seen, tiger with a white chest. Have some squirrel food back on that table but don't think anyone has found it.

    Our city has decided to switch solid waste routes. Of course the new drivers apparently don't know I have handicap permission to come on my property to get my bins. One day last week I chased a driver down as I hobbled along with my cane causing severe pain in my back and legs. He was a relief driver as ours was behind. When he got to our bin it was empty!  Betting the guy that picked up our green barrel threw the trash in with it, a big no no.

    Another day at 5 pm I went out and got my mail as I had a check in it and the mail person had not been around. As I sat an ate I saw the truck going down the neighbor's street, grabbed my cane and my letter and waited for her to arrive. I'm to old for this stuff. :-)

    After the holiday I have to check with Pacific Life to see if they got the mail I returned to them to get Wil's retirement deposited in our checking account. I wrote down the date I sent it but forgot to write how I proved our old account since I shredded all the checks after we closed the account. I've just got to start writing things down, at 83 some of my tacks aren't so sharp any more. :-)

    Wil came back here a couple days when I had music cd's and sat and listened, even tapping his toe some. Today I found he was in my closet, apparently looking for his slippers and not only had he dragged my slippers out he took ONE of my shoes and put it all under the chair. Then he found his slippers and housecoat and waited for Evelyn while he had breakfast.  I wish he would stumble across Carissa's purse I can't find. :-)

    No other news, we just truck along. Thanks for visiting.

Comments (9)

  • @BLB: It is sad for you and for him at seeing Will so lost! You have my suport, Bonnie
    Love
    Michel

  • Hi Bonnie, although your daily challenges are daunting you face them with courage and perseverance. I’m inspired to not give up and to keep going with my own aging issues. You have a nice following of blogger friends. Best thoughts and prayers to everyone.

  • @fauquet: I don't think he remembers the children now. Her picture is still on his desk and I think Scott's with it. I'm not even sure he remembers exactly who I am either. I don't hear my name used, nor do I hear "hon" any more.

  • I think you still manage very well, Bonnie .More than me since I cannot do anything.
    It is sure that the loose of Carissa has been awful for you both and I cannot imagine your sad situation .
    Thoughts and prayers for you.
    Love <3
    Michel

  • Good for Rosemary and I'm happy for you (and would be happier for Wil if he could remember). Wil has a lot to be thankful for in your loving care - even if he can't keep that in mind.

    Hugs, hugs, hugs to you!

  • Rosemary a friend brought over a plate from theirs for our supper. Wil ate well and shortly after putting his dish in the sink he was looking for it not remembering he finished it.

  • Thinking of you and Wil. I wish a place for you to go for a Thanksgiving meal were nearer or a delivered meal could be arranged. As you said you just keep on trucking along - just know many keep you in their thoughts.

  • Thank you CC. Our city has a big Thanksgiving dinner for those who need it. No way could I ever get there. I just miss my green bean casserole and wish I wasn't so afraid of using the oven.

  • Good idea, the fish. Perhaps that is what I'll fix for our own lunch - going to Elder Daughter's house for family dinner in the afternoon. Wish we could take you and Wil with us; but, as you had written, for Wil it is just another day.

    I hope you and Wil have as good a day as possible and I'll count you (and other blog friends) as my blessing(s).

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment