May 13, 2022

  • Friday that feels like Saturday

    Do you ever have one of those days you aren't really sure what day it is?  I do that a lot now as so much is the same. Get up, feed cats, get medications out, eat breakfast, ready the coffee pot. Set Wil's cereal and bowl out for later. Watch some of the news, maybe go color, get dressed.

    Seldom do I have plans for a day unless there are doctor appointments. Church is now in front of the computer. Groceries are ordered online for the next day delivery. Shopping online is time consuming as so many items are out of stock. I'm blessed I don't have to worry about baby formula. That issue got me to remembering, we made our own formula. Pet milk and Karo into sterilized glass bottles and then rubber nipples.  Those were the years of cloth diapers too. I'm so glad we got a washer and I no longer had to go to the laundromat down the street. I can't remember how much laundromat cost then.

    The Veterans Administration now has respite care for Wil and forget the name of the other program that they send someone out to assist him with shower and shave. I was glad to get that as Saturday nights were often a struggle to get him in the shower and he was only in long enough to get wet and he never used his wash cloth. Luckily he will now sit on the shower bench and that makes it easier for Evelyn. She said today she shaved him while he sat there.

    I checked out a care place down the street but have no intention of leaving him there. The lounge is all recliners, filthy cloth. Why the owner didn't purchase vinyl recliners I don't know, I'm sure there are some on the market. They had a wall tv and a pool table in that room. Clients sleeping in those chairs that were side by side.

    They gave me another address but I just haven't gotten out to find it. Respite is covering the days I have doctor appointments but you only get two a month. That's why I need to check the other care place.

    On the advice of a friend and even the pastor, I closed Carissa's Fidelity accounts and put the money in the Savings account and one of the checks I think I put in the Estate account. Don't know at the moment as my brain is at rest today.

    Miss Kitty and Mr. Grey are keeping my house decorated with cat hair. They play every morning and night and sleep during the day. Of course toys find their way around the house. Miss Kitty will carry some. Guess that is left over from having kittens. I wonder if the kittens survived? We never saw any and she only weighed 3 lbs. when they sterilized her. She may be 5 lbs. now.

    I've had to buy special cat food for Mr. Grey as he got that dreaded male cat crystals and cost me a couple trips to the vet as I couldn't give him his medicine so I had to board him and let the vet do it. He weighs 11lbs. 4 oz. and I was just lucky I got him crated to go to the vet.  My balance is touchy still.

    I don't think I have made mention my younger sister died of COVID in Nov. 2020 and I just learned about it last year after Carissa died! That leaves only my brother who has not talked to me since mom died. The lawyer for Patty's estate has been sending me legal papers so they can get her estate settled. Ohio would not let brother be executor as he lives in PA. So any money will end up in lawyers, appraiser, realtor. He had her cremated so if he hadn't paid that money will go there too. I also learned she was in a long term care facility. She loved her alcohol, it probably took a toll.  Oh and of course no Will was found.

Comments (12)

  • @fauquet: yep, except my body gives me away. lol

  • @BLB: Not any, Bonnie . We can only to try to stay young in mind !!!!!

  • @fauquet: what other choice do we have? :-)

  • @BLB: you are optimistic, Bonnie !! ;)

  • @fauquet: Good for you Michel, keep heading for 100. :-)

  • @BLB: I have only 89, Bonnie ! :)

  • Michel Wil is 84 and I'm 82. No with dementia there won't be improvement but some days periods of the day better than other.

    CC I still advise people if they own anything they best have a Will. Son had an old one done on the internet and he forgot a residual paragraph for his estate. Daughter had a Will but she left her dad as executor so he had to sign paper turning it over to me, the second one listed.

    With no family here I just pray I'm the last to go. Church can have the property.

  • P.S. I did not mean to imply criticism of anyone else who was not as fortunate and does not have their own money to rely upon. Husband and I were both fortunate/lucky during our working years. Too, fortunately, my needs are simple.

    Just give me a cat - ; )

  • You made my day by posting. Most days I've been coming by, but was remiss the last couple of days due to computer issues.

    In some cases, not having a will is probably not the big deal that some image. My husband hates all lawyers and won't have one do a will for him. I am fine with that. (My mother's will was invalid and I had to probate her estate without a will.)

    In our state, the spouse gets 1/2 and the kids split the other half if there is no will. In fact, I had husband change the beneficiary on his big pot of money so that the daughters & granddaughter split that (I had to send in a spousal consent form for him to do that. Fortunately, I saved my own money while working and will not be dependent upon his.) That way, if I die first (which I highly expect, given our respective gene pools), no one will have to worry about getting the beneficiary changed - and his mind is nearly past the stage of his understanding it, anyway. (He kept asking me, "But, won't you need the money?" during the weeks during which we were getting everything set up. That's the stage of dementia that he is in - worrying about me!)

  • I am glad to read you on Xanga, Bonnie .
    You are a master in the use of the computer for your needs . Soon the meets with the doctor will be made also with the computer too !! :)
    Will does not look improving . How old is he ?
    Love
    Michel

  • Rosemary the care center to which I referred is a day center, not full time center.

  • Good to hear from you Bonnie. Searching for the right care home is so hard. As usual, you are up for the challenge and taking the right steps. Glad the cats are settled, be careful, friend of mine just had a bad fall when her cat got tangled with her legs. Take care and remember to be kind with yourself as you have two of you to look after.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment