Month: September 2021

  • Sunny Sunday

    Friday I was discharged from the hospital. I've done a couple loads of laundry with Wil's help. Standing at the dryer and folding and hanging is difficult.  Managed to get one litter pan renewed as Wil took it out to hose out then I dried it out sitting in the garage. Harder to get around those pans with the walker in front of me.

    I have ordered a tray for the walker to help me get around with 'stuff'. I have a tool to pick up items dropped, my problem I knock it off my walker.  I have a tool to help me get my sock on the bad leg, managed both days since getting home. Wil helped at first but since I'm up before him I need to get dressed right off.  It was wearing slippers that caused me to trip off a grass runner and land on the ground and I did not have my pendent on to call for help. I'm wearing it now only put it in the charger when I go to bed.

    I fix meals and Wil delivers mine to where I'm sitting. Then he brings his plate. That card table serves a purpose in our living room though my friends took it down as to them it was in the way. When I first went in the hospital Keith from church stayed all night with Wil. Of course he couldn't keep it up and the VA was of NO help. So Alice took over that spot, great lady. I don't know if her husband took a turn when he got back.

    The Committee at Rehab didn't want me to come home until Tues. but I decided it would be Friday. No matter how much OT and PT you get it will not solve all things you face at home.

    I had a commode thing to help me up, ended up having Wil put it in the garage. More trouble than it was helpful. Wil never remembered to put the seat down and that was hard on my backside. Then after Millie left Yesterday I found a puddle of water in front of it. No idea how that happened. So out to the garage with it.

    Amazon has a transition chair which I will need to get in the tub. Of course it won't arrive until Oct or first of Nov. so now bath for me. :-)   I used one of those in the hospital, Medicare won't pay for one.  They paid for the commode thing that I'm not using.

    Last night I slept in my bed on my back, pillows under my legs. Tomorrow I have to call the surgeon and make an appointment to get the staples out. Of course I will have to find a ride.

    I need to get the kitchen floor mopped today when I see Wil straighten up as his back was bothering him before his shower.

    I am supposed to have in home therapy but at this point I wonder why. They said they can give Wil some too as falling asleep and muddling through his desk is not all he should be doing.

  • Time is flying to my birthday

    No cards for my birthday this year, not even a birthday cake. At 82 what did I expect?  Our anniversary is coming as well. Wil's niece may send a card for that but I'm not counting on it and does it really matter?

    Next week I am scheduled to get my drivers license renewed. When it comes time for Wil's renewal I will have to take him for an ID card as he doesn't drive any more. Since he doesn't vote any more I wonder if there is a purpose for him to have an ID card.

    Yesterday I spent time trying to get the release lever on the new Eureka stick broom. Customer service was no help at all, in fact when I asked to speak to some one else she hung up on me. The plastic holder for it didn't work on the wall either. Joe put it up and it moved a bit and I knew with the weight of the vacuum and battery it would pull out. Such short anchors and screws that came with it. So it just sits upright.

    I have a stick vacuum but plugging and unplugging every room made it hard on my back bending to plugs. So I figured buy a cordless. I hope that battery pack lasts a long time as I doubt they are cheap. Since I fired the floor lady I haven't found another, so that leaves it to me. My friend lost her cleaning lady and she can't find one either.  Pandemic has not helped. Thought I had someone but she wasn't vaccinated.  With the new Delta variant and the breaks in people like us that are vaccinated it leaves me to be careful.

    I've had some improvement in my back since the ablation, walking better. I still need a pain pill once in awhile but that is understandable with the arthritis etc. in the spine. So it may take me longer to sweep and mop floors but I'll get it done. Granted learning how to maneuver a bigger floor brush will take time. Meantime equipment with cords sits in closets.

    On another topic, Miss Kitty comes to eat every day. She stands far enough away as I put food out so she feels safe.  If I stopped feeding that would leave song birds to be preyed upon. I just wish the city required cats be like dogs are supposed to be, on your property or in your house.

     

Recent Comments

Categories